Similar stories:


Cold from the North

Cold from the North by D W Ross

SPFBO7

Driven by the promise of an ancient prophecy which will bring the dark ways of an old god back to power and prominence, an army of invaders swarms Ogulf Harlsbane’s homeland slaughtering all those who oppose them. Along with his people, Ogulf must seek refuge from this savage force. In his search of sanctuary, he is tasked with finding the one person who can put a stop to the onslaught. Doing so will send him across lands and seas, have him and his closest friend navigate the intricacies of a civil war, and try to win the help of the princess fighting for her throne. If he fails, darkness will prevail and the reign of the Onyxborn will begin.


Hills of Heather and Bone

Hills of Heather and Bone by K.E. Andrews

SPFBO9 SPFBO Finalist

The bones of the dead hold stories. On the fringes of Errigal, Morana longs to exchange a life of hiding for a peaceful one with her husband, Percy. While Percy's bloodgift lets him grow plants and heal broken bodies, Morana's a boneweaver, despised and feared because she can hear bones and raise the dead. Morana doesn't want to be seen as a villain from the old stories and instead spends her time gardening, writing the stories of the dead, and fending off a spiteful chicken. Morana and Percy's lives are shattered when a group of Failinis tasked with capturing boneweavers and rogue bloodgifted find them. On the run and battling the elements, ancient creatures, and the loss of all they called home, Morana and Percy search for any sanctuary left in Errigal. Morana must choose between the call in her blood or the family she holds so close to her heart if she and Percy are to survive. Please be aware that this book contains some scenes of violence, death, depression, mentions of miscarriage, birthing scenes, suicidal thoughts, suicide, and cannibalism.


Downhome Little Planet Vol. 1

Downhome Little Planet Vol. 1 by Joey Daiba

WriteHive Book Club

Backwater planet Acies Gemma is barely a glowing dot on the galactic map these days due in part to the fact that it resides at the redneck ass-end of the galaxy... and the fact that its rotation is slowing. The planet has only a few years left before it becomes uninhabitable and the bulk of the population dies horribly. Tragically. The dire situation has caused everyone who is anyone to flee, leaving the "lower class gutter trash hicks" stranded to fend for themselves. Government has broken down. Society has come untethered. Fire and brimstone raining down from the sky. Rivers and seas boiling. Forty years of darkness. Earthquakes, volcanoes. The dead rising from the grave. Human sacrifice. Dog and cats living together! - Mass hysteria! In the middle of all of this is a cyborg street peddler known to his friends and family as Twitch who must uphold a promise he never made and finds himself engaged to a troublesome alien princess... and boy is his girlfriend pissed! Can he really hold it together? Or will his literal and figurative world come crashing down around him? We honestly do not know the answer to that question yet, but here's to hoping you want to find out and like the story and tell all your friends about it! Because for every negative comment received the editor will be giving the author a very harsh jab to the kidney! And Joey is very fond of both of his.


Downhome Little Planet Vol. 2

Downhome Little Planet Vol. 2 by Joey Daiba

A glimmer of dubious hope flickers in the distance for the backwater planet of Acies Gemma. A powerful race known as the J’sarri is on route to save the dying world and ensure the safety of their runaway princess. But even with the political marriage of Twitch and Leuki promising an alliance, things aren’t getting much better for the planet’s abandoned populace. If anything, you’d think nobody had even noticed the events of the last couple of months! What the hell is wrong with everyone?! To make matters worse, things have only gotten more problematic for our favorite cyborg degenerate! His blushing bride has a knack for attracting enough trouble to bring entire government branches crashing down. And don’t think Twitch’s girlfriend Scarlet has given up on the man of her dreams. Her schemes are adding even more thorium to the fire! Behind all this chaos, a mystery is slowly unraveling. There’s something more to the Fyx family than meets the eye. Even more, the planet itself holds secrets, haunting just beneath its surface. Can Fix hold his life together before all hell breaks loose? Can Leuki win him over and finally have the simple life of her dreams?


A Christmas Truce

A Christmas Truce by Emma Bennet

A BRAND-NEW, UTTERLY ADDICTIVE FEEL-GOOD FESTIVE GRUMPY/SUNSHINE ROMANCE FOR CHRISTMAS 2023. Photographer Libby just got fired. Again. Then she gets home early to find her boyfriend in bed with another woman. And just like that, her dreams of a Christmas Day proposal are shattered. Libby lands a new job as a personal assistant to enigmatic businessman Seth Coleman. He’s terse and demanding — it’s no wonder Libby keeps messing up. Then one day an adorable Golden Retriever puppy is delivered to the house. As Libby helps Seth train Barney, she realizes that there’s a surprisingly sweet side to this CEO . . . But everything goes wrong when Libby finds out that Seth’s company just bought the community centre where they’ve been training Barney. It’s not only puppy classes, it’s a lifeline for the whole village. Libby is devastated when Seth says it’s ‘just business’. So she packs her bags. Until disaster strikes and Libby is forced to spend her favourite time of the year with a man who doesn’t even own tinsel. It’s up to Libby to bring some much-needed Christmas spirit. Starting with a truce, since they’re going to be stuck together whether they like it or not. But Libby might just find magic under the mistletoe after all if she can encourage Seth to open his heart to Christmas . . . This heartwarming Christmas romance is perfect for fans of Jessica Redland, Jenny Colgan, Holly Martin, Teresa F. Morgan, Helen Rolfe and Julie Shackman. READERS ARE FALLING IN LOVE WITH EMMA BENNET’S UPLIFTING, FEEL-GOOD CHRISTMAS ROMANCE: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘This is the perfect feel-good read. A lovely love story. I loved the cute puppy Barney.’ Rosamond ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘A really cute Christmas-themed novel. I loved the storyline and how a cute dog tied in as well. This would make a great movie as well! Perfect feel-good holiday novel. Highly recommend.’ A reader in the UK ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘This was such a beautiful and enjoyable read. I loved this book and highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys this genre.’ Sophie L. ALSO BY EMMA BENNET HER PERFECT HERO THE GREEN HILLS OF HOME THE ONE THAT GOT AWAY? STARSTRUCK FALLING IN LOVE AT NIGHTINGALE FARM


© 2024 Hakea Media | Terms | Privacy